Fabric Orphan


This is a partial picture of one of the fabric "orphans" that will be available in the adoption event tomorrow morning (2/22/14).  This is a lugana fabric and has such a pretty coloring and patterning.  The event happens in the "orphanage" on the main site of The Stitchers' Village.  It will begin at 10 a.m. Central Time, 11 a.m. Eastern Time, 9 a.m. Mountain Time and 8 a.m. Pacific Time.  At the specified time, the "live" page with the orphans will be posted (you may need to refresh your browser during the event to keep current).  Each piece has a picture with a name, description of fabric type and count, and a price below the photo.  To "adopt" you must send an email as directed on the page.  This is a very fast-paced event because some stitchers would like more than one of these one-of-a-kind fabrics and they must send a separate email for each one.  This gives more people a chance to adopt.  It also makes for a very frenzied time for me.  If you want to read more about the event, CLICK HERE There is a placeholder page that gives general information. 


Nashville 2014

 
Above is a new release from a new designer, Lindsay Lane Designs.  I had a chance to visit with her and am very excited to share this discovery.  When I brought it back to show Marilyn, I told her that it really made me think of a drawing on a chalk board.  She pointed out the text at the bottom of the front cover of the chart - "Come the Spring" #1 in the Chalkboard Series.  I do tend to be less than thorough in my examination of things, at times.  However, when I told Meg (the designer) she was pleased that her artistic intent came through.
I have attended the wholesale market with Marilyn of Picture This Plus for many years.  We returned home yesterday from the Nashville market which is held in an Embassy Suites hotel.  Vendors set up their booths in their rooms and it is a community environment that is a lot of fun.  Below are a couple of pictures of the set up process for Marilyn's fabric display.

Our next door neighbor was Cheryl from Glendon Place and here is a picture of her display window with her three new Deserts: "Rainbow Parfait", "Fudgy Mint Mousse", and "Red Velvet Cake"

And a star at the show was Rosewood Manor's "Autumn Quaker"



Banana Coconut Bread

I decided to make some banana bread with some bananas I had on hand.  While checking the recipe to be sure I had all the ingredients, I realized I did not have buttermilk, but had some Silk coconut milk.  I have been buying Silk coconut milk instead of 2% for my milk since I discovered it.  I love coconut!  So, I used that instead of buttermilk and finely chopped some coconut and added it in with the walnuts.  Delicious!  This is the best thing I have made since I discovered a coconut sugar cookie recipe a few years back.